India & Pakistan Both Got Independence In 1947 Then Why It Was 71st For Pak & 72nd For India

Whole country celebrated Independence Day 2018 yesterday in complete unity. However, there was one thing that “divided” or say “confused” the people.

It was the count of Independence Day.

Indian Govt. claimed it to be 72nd Independence day while Pakistan Govt. claimed it to be 71st Independence day

Official Tweet by Pakistan Govt where they claimed 15th Aug 2018 to be 71st Independence day:

Official Tweet by PIB (on behalf of Indian Govt) where they claimed 15th Aug 2018 to be 72nd Independence day:-


View image on Twitter

Pakistan and India both got Independence in 1947 so why there was difference in the count? Who is right here and who is wrong here? When such kind of confusion arises then RVCJ is here to clear such kind of confusion.

We researched the matter in detail and tried to find how actually it became a 72nd Independence Day. Mathematically, it’s obvious that if we got the freedom in 1947, celebrated 1st Anniversary in 1948, 10th in 1957, 50th in 97, 60th in 2007, 65th in 2012 then it was 71st yesterday.

Let’s try to understand it with one more example. A kid that is born today i.e. 16th Aug 2018 will celebrate its 1st Birthday next year which means his 10th Birthday will be in 2028, 20th in 2038 and similarly 70th in 2088.

Also, if we check, countries like Canada & USA celebrate their Independence day with the same method. Canada foundation date is on July 1, 1867 and celebrated its 150th anniversary in year 2017 and not in year 2016.

Similarly, USA foundation date is 1776 and celebrated their 240th Independence in 2016.

But let’s see how and where our count changed went into the wrong side-

As we mentioned above, It was the 50th Anniversary in 1997 and 60th Anniversary in 2007.

Manmohan Singh who was the Prime Minister in 2007 called it 60th Anniversary of Independent India. Here is an excerpt from his speech.

My dear countrymen, brothers, sisters and dear children

Today we celebrate the 60th anniversary of our Independence. My greetings to you all on this day of national celebration.

In 2012 too, it was going right and we celebrated the 65th Anniversary. Check out the excerpt from speech of Manmohan Singh.

My dear countrymen, brothers, sisters and dear children,

I greet you all on this anniversary of our Independence.

“The leaders of our freedom movement, under the stewardship of Mahatma Gandhi, had dreamt of an independent and prosperous India. On this day in 1947, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru took the first step towards the realization of that dream by hoisting the Tricolour at the Red Fort. The journey we began on 15 August, 1947 is now 65 years old. We have achieved much in these 65 years.

The problem started when in 2013 during his last speech at 66th Anniversary he didn’t mention the count of Anniversary. You can read the speech here.

And then in May 2014, Narendra Modi was elected as the new Prime Minister. In his first speech of Independence that was 67th Anniversary, he too didn’t mention the count.

Meanwhile, media had already started doing confused reporting. They called Independence Day 2011 as 65th, 2014 as 68th and so on. Have a look-

Then in 2015, when Prime Minister’s official website called the 68th Independence Day as 69th, another major part of the media started reporting wrong way. Check out the screenshot-

From there on, the series of wrong reporting started. In 2016, Narendra Modi himself declared the Independence Day 2016 as 70th Anniversary. Check out an excerpt from his speech.

My dear countrymen,
From the ramparts of Red Fort, I greet 125 crore fellow countrymen – within and outside India, on the auspicious occasion of Independence Day.
On this 70th festival of freedom, we have a new resolve, a new resolution, a new enthusiasm, a new vitality to take country to new and greater heights. Our freedom reminds us of the sacrifice of our freedom fighters and their devotion to the cause of freedom through struggle and sacrifice. On this occasion, we remember those young people who went willingly to gallows. We are breathing today in free India, thanks to Mahatma Gandhi, Sardar Patel, Pandit Nehru and many other great leaders and people who struggled and worked consistently towards freedom of the country.